Medical, Scientific and Technology Advisory Board

Dr. Barnett is a clinical psychologist and an expert in treating addiction, depression, anxiety and relationship difficulties. With experience in a wide range of treatment approaches to addictive disorders, Dr. Barnett is the founder of the CARTER Inc. Center for Addiction Recognition, Treatment, Education and Recovery. He also founded the Psychedelic Society of Vermont.

Dr. Bradley is a retired U.S. Army psychiatrist and combat veteran with 26 years on active duty before he joined the VA Boston Healthcare System in 2011. As chief of psychiatry and deputy director for the mental health service at VA Boston, he oversaw the psychiatric practice and professional development of hundreds of mental health clinicians and staff. He is board certified in psychiatry and has focused his career on suicide prevention and combat trauma.

Dr. Carhart-Harris leads Imperial College London’s Centre for Psychedelic Research and regularly publishes research on psychedelic medicines in clinical perspectives. He received his Ph.D. in psychopharmacology from the University of Bristol and an M.A. in psychoanalysis from Brunel University.

Dr. Castro is the research director for the University of Southern California Center for Innovation and Research on Veterans and Military Families. He also is director of the RAND-USC Epstein Family Foundation Center for Veterans Policy Research, established in 2021. Castro has served in a variety of research and leadership positions, including commander of the U.S. Army Medical Research Unit-Europe in Heidelberg, Germany; chief of the Department of Military Psychiatry at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research in Washington, D.C.; and director of the Military Operational Medicine Research Program at the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command in Maryland.

Dr. Erritzoe is a faculty member at Imperial College London, Division of Psychiatry, Department of Brain Sciences, and a clinical senior lecturer in general psychiatry in the Centres for Neuropsychopharmacology and Psychedelic Research. Using brain-imaging techniques, Dr. Erritzoe conducts psychopharmacological research and studies the neurobiology of addictions and major depression at Imperial College. He is a member of the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

Mr. Gomez-Escolar is a psychopharmacologist and member of the UNAD commission on international drug policy. He serves as an advisor to large pharmaceutical companies, investment firms and government committees on public health. With a master’s degree in psychopharmacology from Complutense University of Madrid, Mr. Gomez-Escolar also holds a master’s degree in international relations from Griffith University in Australia and a certificate of Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials from Johns Hopkins School of Public Health.

Dr. Frewen is an associate professor in the departments of psychiatry and psychology, as well as the graduate program of neuroscience, at the University of Western Ontario in Canada. He completed his doctorate in clinical psychology at Western and his post-doctoral residency at the Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre. Dr. Frewen is chair of the Canadian Psychological Association’s Traumatic Stress Section, and also chairs the Practice Committee of the American Psychological Association’s Trauma Division. He has published more than 80 peer-reviewed journal articles and chapters on psychological trauma and related topics.

Dr. Lanius is a professor of psychiatry and director of the PTSD research unit at the University of Western Ontario in Canada. She established the Traumatic Stress Service and the Traumatic Stress Service Workplace Program, services that specialize in the treatment and research of PTSD. She has authored more than 100 published papers and chapters in the field of traumatic stress, and is a frequent national and international lecturer on PTSD.

Dr. McFarlane serves as director of the Centre for Traumatic Stress Studies at the University of Adelaide in South Australia. He specializes in the effects of traumatic stress, and his research has focused on the epidemiology and longitudinal course of PTSD, as well as the neuroimaging of the cognitive deficits in this disorder. Along with receiving many honors for his work in psychiatry and traumatic stress, Dr. McFarlane has published more than 250 articles and chapters in peer-reviewed journals and has co-edited three books. He is a Fellow of the Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatrists.

Dr. Merali, a neuroscientist and pharmacologist, is full professor in the faculties of Medicine (cellular and molecular medicine/psychiatry) and Social Sciences (psychology) at the University of Ottawa, as well as research professor at the Institute of Neuroscience at Carleton University. He also is the former president, CEO and scientific director of the University of Ottawa Institute of Mental Health Research. Dr. Merali has published more than 250 peer-reviewed scientific publications.

Dr. Polito is a researcher in the department of cognitive science at Macquarie University in Australia. He has significant experience in psilocybin microdosing research, and in 2019, Dr. Polito led and conducted one of the largest-to-date systematic studies of microdosing psychedelics.

Dr. Rhind is an associate professor at the University of Toronto and a senior defense scientist in the military operational health and performance section at Defence Research and Development Canada. He leads an integrative (molecular to systemic) translational research team investigating the immunoregulatory mechanisms of psychophysiological stress and trauma-associated changes in cellular and humoral immune and inflammatory responses.

Dr. Vermetten is professor of medical-biological and psychiatric aspects of psychotrauma at Leiden University Medical Center/University of Leiden. He is also an active clinical psychiatrist at the MGGZ Utrecht in the Netherlands, which offers mental health care for the military. Dr. Vermetten is internationally recognized in the treatment of PTSD and other mental disorders, and has served as a researcher in conjunction with Stanford, Yale and Emory universities. He has published more than 300 articles and book chapters, and is a leader in the international psychological traumatology community, as well as adjunct professor of psychiatry at New York University School of Medicine.

Dr. Wise has 30 years of experience in psychotherapy and mental health coaching, and has worked with thousands of clients. She also has significant experience in psychedelic aftercare. Her research and clinical interests include the impact of trauma on interpersonal relationships. Dr. Wise is an author, as well as a frequent workshop leader and lecturer delivering keynote presentations to businesses and schools across the United States.

Dr. Wynn is professor of psychiatry and neuroscience, assistant chair of the Department of Psychiatry, and senior scientist at the Center for the Study of Traumatic Stress, which is part of the Uniformed Services University. He is also a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Neuroscience Research. Dr. Wynn received his education at the United States Military Academy at West Point and Uniformed Services University.